My grandfather passed away over a decade ago, but not a Memorial Day passes before I stop to remember what he did for his country.

My uncle worked in graphic design all of his adult life, but his love of art didn’t stop when he left the office. He created the piece below as a memorial to my grandfather when I was still a child, and it’s hung on my parents living room wall ever since.  The story below happened before my dad or his brothers were born. It happened before my grandfather was even married – although he and my grandmother had begun dating.

SCAN0001

I can’t imagine the months of fear, unable to communicate with anyone, and unable to tell his loved ones back home not to mourn him just yet. On days like today, it’s important to realize that it’s not always the people you know who helped get you where you are. More often than not, your freedom was paid for by people you’ve never met, and who’s stories you’ve never heard.

This is just one story out of millions, and I can’t think of a better day to share it.

– bc

